top of page

About taking shots with family members

Updated: Mar 1, 2022


Apparently many photographers often suffer from some sort of anxiety, and this can seriously affect their creativity and ability to work. Photography aspects like timelines, camera gear, and posing guides can build up your anxiety.

They say you need to start accepting your nerves as a natural part of life. Prior to an important photoshoot I feel anxious but never felt more anxious as for this particular photoshoot.

Getting everyone on board and willing to smile and stop blinking at the same time made me think I need a guide for this type of events, with some main, important checkpoints.

So here a guide for every person out there on how to prepare for a photo session:

  1. Pick Out Your Outfit(s) Early and Study Colors and Patterns Schemes

  2. Practice Hair & Makeup

  3. Gather Your Props and Study your Pose

  4. Eat, Drink, and Rest

  5. Bring The Necessities or Accessories

  6. Shave The Night Before

  7. Get On The Same Page As Your Photographer

  8. Pre-Plan Locations

TIPS:

1. Colors that are most complementary include rich warm colors like camel, beige, olive, orange, gold, dark brown, and warm gray. Colors like black, white, pastels, and blue tones should be avoided.

2. Patterns have a bad habit of drawing attention away from what is MOST important to capture – you and/or your loved ones. BUT, other times, outfits with the right patterns can add a rich visual interest that helps grab and hold the viewers attention.

3. If you want to debloat before a photoshoot, a good sweat session is probably the easiest and fastest way to push out any extra fluid and tighten up your tummy when you wake up feeling less-than-ideal. A 20-30 minute workout promotes blood flow to your digestive system, which decreases bloat as well as pushing out any toxins that could be causing water retention. Models, if they really want to stay as dry as possible, devour : oatmeal, rice cakes, or toast with peanut butter. This swells the muscles with glycogen, the stored sugar that you use for energy.



At a certain point I stopped, I ventilated and decided I need to use this nervous energy for good rather than worrying why I feel this way. The worst pressure I can put on myself is to believe that I am not 'normal' for feeling a certain way, and letting those feelings interfere with the work I need/want to do.


 

As a photographer, getting subjects to relax and pose natural is truly a tricky step and requires another set of actions that I put up on another guide.

  1. Study different Poses beforehand

  2. Find the right Light

  3. Get on their Level

  4. Don't count off

  5. Make your subjects interact with each other

  6. Add a little Movement

  7. Say Cheese!


For me and probably many photographers out there, it’s not easy to manage the camera and the model(s) at the same time. With these photography tips, I wish I will be able to improve the standard of my portraiture and enjoy the process far more. Concentrate more on capturing emotions and genuine feelings, this is my 2022 resolution regarding photography!





25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page